Curriculum Overview 2017-2018

After School Clubs Autumn 2017

The Curriculum at Ashill Primary School

At Ashill Primary School, we follow The National Curriculum (revised 2014). The curriculum outlines the subjects taught from Y1 to Y6. The National Curriculum has three core subjects:

English:  Reading – word reading and comprehension, Writing – composition, handwriting and spelling, Spoken Language and Grammar, Punctuation and Vocabulary.

Mathematics: Number and place value, Fractions, Addition and Subtraction, Multiplication and Division, Geometry, Fractions and Statistics

Science KS2 a 4 year rolling programme and KS1 a 2 year rolling programme is followed, ensuring full coverage of the science curriculum.

Areas of scientific investigation are covered every year.

Most time will be spent on these core subjects. The foundation subjects, comprising of History, Geography, Design and Technology, Computing, Art, Music, PE and RE/Personal, Social and Health Education and French (KS2) will be taught in the remaining time.

During the course of the year, all pupils will have Forest school sessions, designed to encourage exploration of our physical landscape, while nurturing a practical, hands-on approach to learning.

The children in Reception (EYFS) follow The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (2014), which is a play based curriculum, focusing on the three prime areas of learning – Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication and Language Development and the four specific areas of learning – Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding of the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

The Dept. for Education has established the standard to which children are expected to achieve at the end of each year in school. The school is therefore able to report to parents annually whether or not a child has met the age related expectations (ARE) or if they are below or above them.

Additionally, the children in Y1, Y2 and Y6 take more formal National tests:

Y1 – Phonics Screening Check

Y2 – Reading, Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar and Mathematics. Writing is assessed by the school.

Y6 – Reading, Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar and Mathematics. Writing is assessed by the school.


To ensure that the children will not repeat any aspect of their learning unnecessarily, a four year rolling programme of topics has been developed.  These topics provide the context in which the subjects may be taught. The topics for the academic year can be viewed at the top of this page (Curriculum Overview).


For RE, the Somerset Scheme, ‘Awareness, Mystery and Value’, is followed. Whole school and class assemblies are based on themes that develop moral and social understanding and an awareness of some important religious celebrations.

Additional learning needs for all children are regularly reviewed by staff throughout each term. Staff know the children well and provide and adapt learning opportunities to ensure children are able to develop confidence and resilience which support their learning experiences. Regular assessments and observations help to identify learning needs and monitor impact of interventions and support. Our SENCO (Special Educational Needs Coordinator) advises and supports staff to cater for more complex needs of any individual and to carry out assessments which help to ensure provision matches an individual’s learning needs. The SENCO will also arrange and coordinate support of other support agencies.


Homework or Home Learning

Homework is used to reinforce, practice or revise some work covered in school. All children receive regular homework which is detailed in the 'Classes' section of our website. The class teacher advises parents at the beginning of the year when homework will be set and by which day it should be returned. We ask parents to encourage children to complete homework to the best of their ability, praise them when homework is completed well and to contact school if any aspect of homework is causing concern.

Developing a life-long love of learning is a key priority and great emphasis is placed on the essential partnership between home and school in achieving this aim.


Reading Schemes

In the Reception/KS1 class the children progress along a colour book band system for reading. They begin on lilac level (picture books) and progress through pink, red, yellow, blue, green, orange, turquoise, purple, gold, white and lime banded books before free reading from paperbacks.

The book bands are made up of the following reading schemes:

Oxford Reading Tree, Ginn, Rigby Rocket, Spiral Starters, Storyworlds, All Aboard.


Phonic sessions and Spelling, Punctuation and Grammar (SPaG)

All children have a daily phonics session (primarily Reception and Year 1) or SPaG session (primarily Years 2 through to 6). We follow the phonics scheme Letters and Sounds.